CDR Michael T. Mazurek Clinician Scholar Award

Established in 2011, the Award will be presented annually to a SOMOS member who has demonstrated the potential and desire to become an orthopaedic clinician scholar. This award will recognize the individual who best exemplifies CDR Mazurek's commitment to excellence in military orthopaedic education and research.

An outstanding orthopaedic educator and clinician scholar, CDR Mazurek was twice awarded the David J. Czertak Memorial Teaching Award, was the recipient of several large research grants and authored many articles, ranging from basic to clinical science. Also a decorated combat surgeon, CDR Mazurek deployed with the Marines to Fallujah, Iraq in 2004, and was recognized for his selfless actions that often occurred under fire. His distinguished service at the Naval Medical Center, San Diego, culminated in his selection as Orthopaedic Residency Program Director. In his short time with us, Commander Mazurek embodied the mission of SOMOS and improved warrior care through research and education. This award is named in his honor.

 Eligibility Criteria:

SOMOS active and resident members in their PGY2 - PGY5 residency years, in fellowships, and Junior Faculty within five years of completion of training, who demonstrate the potential and intent to become an orthopaedic clinician scholar.

Award Description:

The award covers travel and expenses to participate in the 1.5 day AAOS/OREF/ORS Clinician Scholar Development Program (CSDP), or similar program as designated by the SOMOS Board of Directors, as well as travel and expenses to attend the SOMOS annual meeting held the year of the program. 

Instructions for Applicants:

Submit a one-page essay explaining interest in CSDP, how the program will further individual and society goals, and why the individual is deserving of the CDR Michael Mazurek award. Also include a curriculum vitae and a sponsor letter from the applicant’s Program Director or Chairman that indicates support for attendance at the meetings. Application will be accepted through March 15, 2024.

Apply Here 

Past Winners of the Award

2023 LCDR Ashley B. Anderson, MD

2022 MAJ Sean E. Slaven, MD

2020 Maj Andrew J. Sheean, MD

2019 MAJ David J. Tennent, MD 

2018 CPT John Christopher Dunn, MD

2017 LCDR Scott Wagner, MD

2016 MAJ Chad A. Krueger, MD

2015 MAJ Jeanne C. Patzkowski, MD

2014 LCDR Scott Tintle, MD 

2013 MAJ Jonathan F. Dickens, MD

2012 MAJ Travis C. Burns, MD

2011  MAJ Josef Eichinger, MD